Remix veteran Joshua Morse returns to GameChops with CHIP FUNK, a grooving tribute to some of the most timeless videogame tunes of the ’90s.

Joshua Morse is a composer and software engineer known for fusing chiptune and jazz music for remixes and original songs. Chip Funk reimagines seven nostalgic favorites from the SNES, Nintendo 64, Playstation, and Sega Genesis eras by blending 16-bit sounds with jazz rhythms and reharmonizations, lo-fi sound design, and plenty of funky basslines. 

The album delivers refreshing takes on classics from The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time, Donkey Kong Country, Chrono Trigger, Sonic 3 and Knuckles, and Final Fantasy X with a track selection that honors some of the most legendary videogame composers of the time. Listeners will hear tributes to the works of David Wise, Koji Kondo, Yasunori Mitsuda, Nobuo Uematsu, and Brad Buxer.
Chip Funk is out now on all online stores and streaming platforms. Support Joshua Morse and GameChops by streaming, saving, and adding the album to your playlists!

~ Tracklist ~
Gerudo Valley Fever (“Gerudo Valley” from The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time)
Shop FUNKY Flights (“Funky the Main Monkey” from Donkey Kong Country 2)
Secret of the Forest (“Secret of the Forest” from Chrono Trigger)
Launch Base Groove (“Launch Base Zone” from Sonic the Hedgehog 3)
Welcome to KemKroc Industries (“Fear Factory” from Donkey Kong Country)
Tunnelbot’s Hideout (“Marble Garden Zone” from Sonic the Hedgehog 3)
Besaid Island (“Besaid Island” from Final Fantasy X)

~ Credits ~
Produced by Joshua Morse
Album artwork by Matt Hacket
Mastering by Dj Cutman

Composed by Koji Kondo, David Wise, Yasunori Mitsuda, Brad Buxer, and Nobuo Uematsu
Originally from The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time, Donkey Kong Country 2, Chrono Trigger, Sonic the Hedgehog 3, Donkey Kong Country, and Final Fantasy X

▾ Follow Joshua Morse ▾

▾ Stream // Download // Support ▾

Chip Funk is copyright & published by GameChops, 2022
All compositions used with permission